Language
Now in Minsk   The weather in Belarus

Home Bilateral relations Political

Belarusian – Latvian Relations


Development of cooperation with Latvia is among Belarus’ foreign policy priorities.

On December 16, 1991, the two countries signed the Declaration on the Principles of Good-Neighborly Relations.

The diplomatic relations between Belarus and Latvia were established on April 7, 1992.

In 1993, the Embassy of Belarus opened in Riga, and the Embassy of Latvia opened in Minsk. The Consulates-General of Belarus in Daugavpils and of Latvia in Vitebsk have provided their services since 1994.

The Prime Minister of Belarus visited Latvia in 1998, 2001, 2008 and 2010. The Prime Minister of Latvia visited Belarus in 1994, 1995 and 2009.

In November 2016, the Prime Minister of Belarus visited Latvia and attended the summit of heads of government of the countries participating in the ‘16+1’ format (Central and Eastern Europe and China). 

On 7-8 February 2018, Prime Minister of Latvia paid a working visit to Belarus.

The Foreign Ministries of the two countries interact on a systemic basis.

In February 2014, in July 2016, and in July 2018 the Foreign Minister of Belarus paid working visits to Latvia. In 2015, Foreign Ministers of Belarus and Latvia met in Minsk and Riga. In July 2017, the Foreign Minister of Latvia paid a working visit to Belarus.

The Foreign Ministries hold regular consultations at the level of deputy ministers or heads of departments. In 2014-2018, the parties conducted consultations on political, consular, legal issues, European cooperation and Eastern Partnership, interaction in international organizations, security, Eurasian integration, cooperation with Asian countries, participation in the ‘16+1’ format and transport corridor ‘North-South’.

The bilateral cooperation groups at the national parliaments meet annually. In 2015-2017, chairs of the parliamentary committees for international affairs of Belarus and Latvia exchanged working visits. In May 2016, Riga hosted the bilateral inter-parliamentary consultations on security issues with participation of the chair of the standing commission for national security of the Chamber of Representatives of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus. In 2017, deputy chairman of the Council of Republic of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus visited Latvia, and deputy speaker of the Saeima of Latvia paid a visit to Belarus. In July 2018, a delegation of the Saeima of Latvia headed by the chair of the standing committee on defense, internal affairs and corruption prevention visited Belarus, where it met with the chair of the Chamber of Representatives of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus and the chair of the standing commission on national security of the Chamber of Representatives.

Intensive cooperation is maintained between the ministries of economy, transport, communications, agriculture, protection of the environment, health, tourism, culture, the interior, rescue, border guard and customs services, national banks.

In December 2016, Minister of Defense of Belarus paid the first official visit to Latvia. In December 2017, Defense Minister of Latvia paid a return visit to Belarus. The two countries signed agreements on cooperation between the Defense Ministries and on exchange of information on air flights. The Defense Ministries of the two countries jointly implement annual cooperation development plans. In September 2018, Chief of the General Staff, First Deputy Minister of Defense of Belarus paid the first official visit to Latvia.

Belarusian and Latvian regions have signed about 60 twin city and partner agreements. Three fora of twin cities and partners were held. The working contacts between the administrations of the capitals of the two countries have strengthened, also through implementation of the cooperation programme for 2015-2017. In May 2017, Minsk and Riga won the joint bid for hosting the 2021 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship.

Belarus and Latvia cooperate under the EU programmes and initiatives, such as Eastern Partnership, cross-border cooperation programme ‘Latvia-Lithuania-Belarus’, Euroregion ‘Lake Land’. A special focus is on joint implementation of projects on modernization of border control and customs infrastructure, harmonization of digital markets, the environment, energy efficiency, regional development.

About 60 international treaties and other documents in different spheres constitute the legal basis of Belarus-Latvia bilateral cooperation.

The Republic of Belarus is interested in strengthening the good-neighborly relations and developing cooperation with the Republic of Latvia in political, trade and economic, science and technology, cultural, educational, ecological, cross-border, and other spheres.

Language

Главная Двусторонние отношения Политические

Политические отношения

Развитие сотрудничества с Латвийской Республикой является одним из внешнеполитических приоритетов Республики Беларусь.

16 декабря 1991 г. подписана Декларация о принципах добрососедских отношений между двумя странами.

Дипломатические отношения между Беларусью и Латвией установлены 7 апреля 1992 г.

В 1993 году открылись Посольство Беларуси в Риге и Посольство Латвии в Минске, с 1994 года работают генеральные консульства Беларуси в Даугавпилсе и Латвии в Витебске.

В 1998, 2001, 2008 и 2010 годах состоялись визиты в Латвию Премьер-министра Беларуси. В 1994, 1995 и 2009 годах Беларусь посетил Премьер-министр Латвии.

В ноябре 2016 года Премьер-министр Беларуси А.Кобяков посетил Латвию, принял участие в саммите глав правительств стран-участниц формата «16+1» (страны Центральной и Восточной Европы и Китай).

7-8 февраля 2018 г. состоялся рабочий визит Премьер-министра Латвии в Беларусь.

Системный характер носит взаимодействие по линии внешнеполитических ведомств.

В феврале 2014 г., июле 2016 г. и июле 2018 г. Латвию с рабочим визитом посетил Министр иностранных дел Беларуси. В 2015 году министры иностранных дел Беларуси и Латвии встретились в Минске и Риге. В июле 2017 г. Беларусь с рабочим визитом посетил Министр иностранных дел Латвии.

Между министерствами иностранных дел регулярно проводятся консультации на уровне заместителей министров и руководителей структурных подразделений. В 2014-2018 годах проведены консультации по политическим, консульским, правовым вопросам, общеевропейскому сотрудничеству и «Восточному партнерству», безопасности и взаимодействию в рамках международных организаций, евразийской интеграционной тематике, взаимодействию со странами Азии, участию в формате сотрудничества «16+1» и транспортном коридоре «Север-Юг».

Регулярно проводятся встречи парламентских групп по двустороннему сотрудничеству. В 2015-2017 годах председатели парламентских комиссий по международным делам Беларуси и Латвии обменялись рабочими визитами. В мае 2016 года в г.Риге состоялись межпарламентские консультации по вопросам безопасности с участием председателя постоянной комиссии Палаты представителей Национального собрания Республики Беларусь по национальной безопасности. В 2017 году заместитель председателя Совета Республики Национального собрания Республики Беларусь посетила Латвию, а заместитель председателя Саэйма Латвии посетил Беларусь. В июле 2018 года делегация Саэйма Латвии во главе с председателем комиссии по обороне, внутренним делам и предотвращению коррупции посетила с визитом Беларусь, в ходе которого провела официальные встречи с руководством Палаты представителей Национального собрания Республики Беларусь и постоянной комиссии по национальной безопасности Палаты представителей. 

Интенсивно развиваются межведомственные контакты по линии министерств экономики, транспорта, связи, сельского хозяйства, охраны окружающей среды, здравоохранения, туризма, культуры, внутренних дел, по чрезвычайным ситуациям, пограничных и таможенных служб, национальных банков.

В декабре 2016 года состоялся первый официальный визит Министра обороны Республики Беларусь в Латвию. В декабре 2017 года Министр обороны Латвии посетил с ответным визитом Беларусь. Подписаны соглашения о сотрудничестве между министерствами обороны, об обмене информацией о полетах воздушных судов, реализуются ежегодные планы по развитию двустороннего сотрудничества. В сентябре 2018 года состоялся первый официальный визит начальника Генерального штаба Вооруженный Сил – первого заместителя Министра обороны Республики Беларусь в Латвию.

Между городами и регионами Беларуси и Латвии подписано около 60 соглашений о побратимских и партнерских связях. Проведено три встречи городов-побратимов и партнеров. Укрепились рабочие контакты по линии администраций столиц, реализована программа сотрудничества на 2015-2017 годы. Минск и Рига получили право на совместное проведение Чемпионата мира по хоккею в 2021 году.

Беларусь и Латвия взаимодействуют в рамках программ и инициатив Европейского союза, в том числе «Восточного партнерства», программы трансграничного сотрудничества «Латвия-Литва-Беларусь», еврорегиона «Озерный край». Особое внимание уделяется совместной реализации проектов по совершенствованию пограничной и таможенной инфраструктуры, гармонизации цифровых рынков, экологии, энергоэффективности, развитию регионов.

Договорно-правовая база двустороннего сотрудничества насчитывает около 60 международных договоров и документов в различных сферах.

Республика Беларусь заинтересована в укреплении добрососедских отношений с Латвийской Республикой, развитии взаимодействия в политической, торгово-экономической, научно-технической, культурной, образовательной, экологической, трансграничной и других сферах.